top of page

The Skinny: Top 5 Healthcare Reads

At the beginning of this summer I committed myself to reading up more on healthcare topics of interest - policy, medical education, and process improvement. I can honestly say I didn't know too much about the world of healthcare before working for Inova, one of the largest health systems in the Northern Virginia area. This is where I got my first glimpse at PCMH guidelines, clinical and administrative workflows, and population health. The following are some of my favorite reads from the past month, although the articles are from as early as 2011! Check them out below :)

  1. The Big Idea: How to Solve the Cost Crisis in Healthcare I have to confess that I knew very little about healthcare costing at the beginning of the application cycle. Applicants always fear the "how would you fix healthcare in this country" question, and with good reason! It's a complex question that's rooted in affordability, accessibility, and coordination of care. This article describes healthcare costing in-depth and step-by-step!

  2. Negotiating the Tensions in Patient-Centered Care This article poses so many great questions about how healthcare providers should be delivering "bad news" to their patients and how this may affect their patients' perception of their physician. Navigating this difficult space and making sure that the patient has all of the information they need without creating a space in the patient-physician relationship is an issue I expect more providers encounter on a daily basis.

  3. Caregiver Burden: A Clinical Review I stumbled upon this after trying to do some research on geriatric care. As a hospice volunteer and as my mom's future caregiver, I was trying to figure out the best course of care for elderly patients. The answer seems to be that there are no "right" answers. Each nursing home, assisted living facility, and long-term care facility has its pros and cons, but it seems that maintaining meaningful social relationships and having some degree of independence is helpful in geriatric care.

  4. Facilitating Quality Improvement: Pushing the Pendulum Back Toward Process Measures A short and sweet read on outcome- versus process-driven measures in healthcare! Good primer for QI in large health systems.

  5. The Potential Hazards of Hospital Consolidation: Implications for Quality, Access, and Price A member of our front desk team recently receive a promotion! He will be working as a team lead for our acquisitions department. During one of my medical school interviews I actually met two students who were working for private practices in Northern Virginia that were currently being acquired by Inova. The article presents some cautionary advice about hospital consolidation, all of which I see as particularly applicable as large health systems become more and more popular.

Between work, salsa, book club, attending various holiday gatherings, and planning a few gatherings of my own, I've been swamped (to say the least)! That's what I love about JAMA articles. A lot of them are great primers for niche topics and brief (usually ~ 2 pages). JAMA sorts its articles into "Collections" so readers can look into the specific topics in healthcare that most interest them. JAMA's sister sites (in various medical specialties) are also subdivided into "Collections." Becoming a better consumer of healthcare and health information has added so much value to my pursuit of the medical profession and (hopefully) make me more apt to practice medicine in the future!

bottom of page