top of page

The Roundup: Dayton

I feel like every time I start writing for this blog I become more acutely aware of how quickly time is passing by! It's already the end of June and in less than 10 days I'll be starting orientation at the Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine! In preparation for one last epic weekend (fourth of July + one of my roommate's birthdays), I visited a friend of mine this past weekend. He attends the Boonshoft School of Medicine (associated with Wright State University in Dayton, OH).

I didn't know a lot about Dayton going into the trip, but had such a lovely time! The city (and downtown area as a whole) is developing and we spent a lot of the weekend in the very hipster Oregon District. Our stops included Press (for an excellent cup of coffee or iced tea), LIly's Bistro, and Wheat Penny!

On Saturday morning my friend had to take an exam, so I headed over to the Woodland Cemetery & Arboretum for their History, Mystery, Murder & Mayhem Tour (on Saturdays at 10:00 AM, email for reservations). Our tour guide was spunky and led us through all the major grave sites over the course of two hours. Aside from the macabre stories, I'd say my favorite part was just looking at some of the more intricate sculptures and obelisks. It's amazing how grand some of these markers were. My favorite had the following inscription: "To live in the hearts we leave behind is not to die."

Now I'm back in Cleveland and enjoying the toasty weather! This week's adventures will include the Cleveland Botanical Gardens, Lakeview Cemetery, the West Side Market, and music at Merwin's Wharf this Wednesday night. Cheers to the last week before it all begins :)

bottom of page