top of page

The Roundup: Tale of Two Thanksgivings

Is anybody else still royally stuffed from their Thanksgiving? I feel so lucky to have been able to celebrate two Thanksgivings this year - one with some close friends from high school and one with my family! I've been following a few different design and lifestyle blogs (separate post to come on these) which have really inspired me to do more with less in terms of decorations and tablescapes for the holidays.

The photos below are some of my favorite decorative details! First up are my wax paper lanterns - I really love how they turned out. Michaels had a huge selection of decorative tape that I think really added some personality to the lanterns. Second up are the fresh flowers that my mom surprised me with at the end of the day. She picked up these beauties right after her shift and we popped them in a green harvest basket to make for a simple and sweet centerpiece. Third up are the candlelit place settings. I plucked one fresh flower from the bouquet and slipped them through a golden ribbon that I then bow-tied around the candle holder. Last, but certainly not least, I was trying to find a way to use some leftover ribbon from last year and realized that it made for easy napkin holder!

Now on to the item of most interest during Thanksgiving - the food! My friends and I stuck with a more simple menu. We knew that we could cook enough food for 10, but figured we would try to take it easy this year since there are realy only four of us. We had my savory Moroccan meatballs and Allison's warm goat cheese with pepper jelly as appetizers, Meredyth's amazing brussell sprout salad as a start, and some honey glazed turkey as our entree. Sides included garlic green beans, mashed potatoes, and classic stuffing. For dessert, Erin prepared a wonderful pumpkin cupcakes with cream cheese frosting!

Up until this past weekend I thought we would be having a small second Thanksgiving between me, my mom, and her fiancee. BUT, fortunately for us, we were recently invited to a friend of her fiancee's house for Thanksgiving! I'm looking forward to celebrating in a different way and taking a look at another family's traditions. The word on the street is that they will be deep frying their turkey, and really, how could a girl with a savory tooth resist that?

Wishing everybody a happy and hearty Thanksgiving spent with good laughs, good food, and good company! I'll be posting throughout the coming weeks in preparation for my trip down to Durham, as well as in preparation for the ugly Christmas sweater party that I'll be throwing for my coworkers. Cheers to the holiday season!

bottom of page