top of page

The Skinny: Top 5 Apps

I'm really excited to share these the skinny on these 5 wonderful apps! Good for music-lovers, bookworms, and new mongers, and insta enthusiasts as well. It takes a lot for any particular app to steal my heart and keep my attention. Minus OverDrive (because I just recently learned about it), I've had each of these apps for at least 2 years and use them each at least once per week (more like once per day). So check out these gems an let me know your 5 favorite apps!

  1. OverDrive You can check out audiobooks from your library if they use OverDrive. This app is great if you have a long commute but don't want to pay for an Audible subscription. They have most books and it's also nice for a quick listen whenever you have pockets of time in the day!

  2. Shelfari A friend of mine introduced me to Shelfari when we were freshmen in college and I've been in love with it ever since! The picture shown above is a snapshot of my shelf. It's a great app to keep track of (and rate) the books you've read, the books you're currently reading, and the books on your to-read list. The user interface is beautiful and you can embed your shelf in any blog :)

  3. Pocket Have you ever scrolled through your newsfeed and thought, "shoot I really want to read this article, but I don't have time right now." Pocket lets you safe these articles with the click of a button (literally only one button). You can long onto your account anytime afterwards and all your articles will be saved! The thing I really like about Pocket (as opposed to other news collating apps) is it's beautiful and sleek user interface

  4. VSCO My all-time favorite photo editing app! VSCO is simple to use and I'm obsessed with their filters. There are only about 8 filters (not the overwhelming 15+ on instagram) and they're all beautiful. I hope this doesn't come across as too neurotic, but usually I'll photograph with my DSLR, upload onto my phone, edit with VSCO, and reupload the finished photos on my computer :)

  5. Songza As far as I'm concerned Pandora doesn't hold a candle to Songza! So how are they different? Songza playlists are all curated by music experts and professional party planners. Playlists are tailored to genres, moods, and activities.

At work I have this dinosaur of a computer that runs so slowly it may have been a sloth in another life. For the most part it doesn't affect our workflow, but when I have to take copayments and the patient would like a receipt, they end up waiting 1-2 minutes for a single piece of paper to print. I always look up apologetically and say, "I'm sorry about the wait, I guess when technology works, it works. But when it doesn't work, it's a real pain in the butt." They always give me a nod of understanding. When technology works for you, it feels great! These are 5 apps that make my life a lot easier & more organized!

bottom of page