top of page

The Roundup: 2016 Resolutions

While I'm personally a believer that you can resolve to do anything at any point in the year, I must say there is something particularly satisfying about setting & documenting all your goals at the very beginning of the calendar year! I know there are plenty of adventures in store for my 2016, so I hope that a little improvement in all the following areas will better prepare me for all the new experiences ahead. Usually when I set resolutions I try to make specific goals so I can measure my progress and recalibrate throughout the year if necessary.

Six Simple Rules

  1. Drink water Drink a glass of water when you wake up. We're all naturally dehydrated when you wake up in the morning, so a glass of water when you wake helps you start your day fresh.

  2. Define your top 3 Every morning ask yourself, "What are the top three most important tasks that I will complete today?" Prioritize accordingly and don't sleep until the top 3 are complete.

  3. The 50/10 rule Be more efficient by working in 50/10 increments. Use a timer to work for 50 minutes on one important task with 10 minute breaks in-between. Spend those 10 minutes getting away from your desk, going outside, calling a friend, meditating, or grabbing a glass of water.

  4. Move and sweat daily Regular movement keeps us healthy and alert. Exercise boosts energy, improves moods, and relieves stress.

  5. Express gratitude Gratitude fosters happiness. Every morning, write out five things that you're thankful for - in times of stress, pause and reflect on 10 things you're grateful for.

  6. Reflect daily Bring closure to each day through 10 minutes of reflection. Ask yourself, "What went well?" and "What needs improvement?"

So 2016 is guaranteed to be an exciting and action-packed year. Here are the categories that I'm trying to grow in personally, as well as some specific goals for the New Year:

Exploring

  • Visit Athens to see the Acropolis, the Agora, the Temple of Zeus, and Monastiraki Flea Market

  • Visit Santorini to see the Koukoumavlos, go sailing, and see Leoni Atelier's gallery & studio

  • Visit Mykonos to see the Aegean Maritime Museum, experience the night life, and tour the Panagia Paraportiani

  • Submit travel photos & column to The Washington Post, The New York Times, and The Expeditioner

Providing

Creating

  • Choose photos for 6 matted frames (for future apartment!)

  • Spray paint & choose photos for 6 flat frame displays (also for future apartment!)

  • Valentines for February + Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas cards :)

  • Care packages for friends that are about to take USMLE Step 1!

Thinking

  • Reading & Writing

  • Attend at least 1 author event @ Busboys & Poets

  • Attend at least 1 author event @ Politics & Prose

  • Attend BookCon in May 2016

  • Write at least 1 book review for this blog each month

  • Financial Literacy

  • ​Use TD Ameritrade's Education Center online to learn more about personal finance

  • Write at least 1 financial literacy post for this blog each month

  • Healthcare Literacy

  • ​Read JAMA articles weekly to stay up-to-date on healthcare issues

  • Read health & science selections from NPR

  • Write at least 1 healthcare literacy post for this blog each month

  • Current Events

  • Listen to NPR (instead of AT40) the way to/from work

  • Devour more TEDx Talks

  • Read The New Yorker and The Atlantic

  • Write at least 1 roundup post for current events each month

  • Arts & Culture

  • ​Attend one more performance at the Kennedy Center (my friends & I are seeing A Gentleman's Guide to Love & Murder this January!)

  • Attend at least 1 exhibit opening @ NGA

  • Attend at least 1 exhibit opening @ NPG

  • Attend opening night ceremony for DC Fashion Week's Spring 2016 collection

  • Write at least 1 arts & culture post for this blog each month

I still have a few days left in 2015 and I must say that this year has been good to me. I've met some of the most wonderful people and had (by and large) the most fantastic time trying new things & expanding my extracurricular interests. I've also read some amazing books, watched amazing movies, and been in the company of phenomenal friends and my lovely family. I couldn't have asked for a better 2015, but somehow I think 2016 will be able to top it! Until next time :)

bottom of page