top of page

The Roundup: NPR & Matchbox


My friend and I were meeting at Matchbox in Merrifield to grab a bite and, on the way there, NPR's This American Life was doing an expose on how FBI infomants are siphoning "terrorists" to the FBI after providing them with car and pipe bombs. I remembered reading the transcript of this TED talk and when I shared this with my friend we were both utterly shocked by some of the "terrorists" that we've "caught" in the past 14 years since 9/11. It seems that many of this would-be terrorists were coerced into commiting acts of domestic terrorism because they were homeless, destitute, and mentally unstable. If you have time, take a listen to the TED talk - very powerful and informative.

On a side note, the food at Matchbox was amazing! I got the Capitol Hill club and it was delicious. Their brunch menu also looked incredibly good! We stopped by Le Pain Quotidien for coffee and dessert. Our waiter recommeded the almond cheese danish (which was an excellent decision). Always fun to hang out and catch up with an old friend!

bottom of page