top of page

The Roundup: NYC Trip

Hi all! Forgive me for being out-of-touch. I've happened across something rare recently: free time! I'll be using it to maintain this professional blog more regularly in addition to my personal blog. I've been working with the Smithsonian Science Education Center (SSEC) this summer to host and sponsor a slew of excellent programs and workshops for K-12 science educators interested in bringing their school's (and/or district's) science curriculum up to Next Generation Science Standards.

Some of these events have been local while others had members of our SSEC team traveling far (Texas) and wide (New Mexico) to bring professional development to groups of eager teachers. I've helped plan few of these events. Check out the Wix pages that I built below for all three:

Not to worry, though, I've also had plenty of fun! This past weekend I got to go to the Big Apple to visit a friend who's starting his MD/PhD program at Weill Cornell. We visited the High Line, Carl Shulz Park, and a number of fantastic eateries! We also got a chance to see If/Then starring Idina Menzel (of Frozen fame) on Broadway. She has the most phenomenal voice. The musical was witty, funny and heart-touching. It reminded me a lot of Everything Matters! by Ron Currie, Jr. That was our assigned reading as incoming freshmen in college. We also found some great eats: Asian fusion at Tao (downtown Manhattan) and amazing Sunday brunch at East End Kitchen (lower east side).

Photo Jul 20, 8 50 04 AM.jpg

Photo Jul 19, 7 08 50 PM.jpg

Photo Jul 20, 1 00 34 PM.jpg

All and all it has been a pretty amazing summer. I'll be wrapping up my internship at the SSEC at the end of this month - I'll be hitting the MCAT books from August until early November. Then, the job hunt begins! I'll be sure to keep you updated on the good reads, tasty treats, and side projects that I pick up along the way!

Since we've last spoken, I've decided to take a gap year to pursue some public health and science education policy interests. I've taken up salsa classes and have been trying to keep more up-to-date with current events. I've also been taking full advantage of all the wonderful museums in DC (I recommend the Degas/Cassatt and Andrew Wyeth exhibits at the NPG while they're still in town for the summer), as well as Jazz in the Sculpture Garden on Friday afternoons. My family and I are going to try to attend First Friday at Dupont Circle next week to check out some of those galleries as well. Speaking of Dupont, a friend of mine from college has some job training in DC, which gives us a wonderful excuse to meet up for a mid-week lunch. We've decided on Duke's Grocery in Dupont - looking forward to their selection of sandwiches!

Just as recently as two weeks ago I was on a huge Gillian Flynn kick - one that I think I'll have to give up. The novels are suspenseful and oftentimes thrilling, but now I've got some Khaled Hosseini on my plate and am really looking forward to digging into it. Another first for me: attending a Duke DC meeting. The Duke Alumni Association is really a great source for continuing my service commitment to the university that I love - I attended the annual Duke DC meeting tonight and will be attending some networking and service information sessions tomorrow night - Thomas Foolery, an ecclectic and fun DC foodie bar, will be the perfect place to meet some fellow Dukies in DC!

Photo Jul 21, 7 44 11 PM.jpg

I'm ending the week on a happy note: dinner with the team that planned the 2014 Energy SSEAT. We'll be debriefing, reviewing evaluations, and trying to make improvements to the program for next year. As my summer is coming to an end, I've decided to give some parting gifts to my supervisors and my fellow interns - they've made this summer a really special one, and leaving is very bittersweet. For Katherine and Katie, ceramic Starbucks mugs (to fuel their caffeine addiction), as well as set of colored pens (for the color-coder and school supply-lover within). For Juliet, a large notebook with atoms decorating the cover - something only a true science geek would love.

For Olivia and Annie, my comrades and new friends, two of my favorite books related to medicine: Weekends at Bellevue and The Frontal Lobe. I'll be in Alexandria this weekend and all of next week for the Forum and Strategic Planning Institute, but I also wanted to make sure I got a chance to celebrate my friend's birthday. We've known each other for 7 years now and she's turning 22! She's hosting a barbecue on Saturday. For her, a custom engraved necklace with a little set of boxing mittens (she's a fighter in the metaphorical sense). My apologies, again, for neglecting this blog! I'll be posting a lot more frequently now (free time is a wonderful thing) and can't wait to see what else is in the store for 2014!

bottom of page