top of page

The Roundup: Smithsonian Science Education Center

Hello again!

It's been a long week, but a good week. The last time I blogged, we were in the middle of the SSEC's 2014 Leadership Development Forum. This forayed into the 2014 International K-12 Science Education Institute for Leadership Development and Strategic Training, which ran Sunday, July 27th - Friday, August 1st.

Photo Jul 27, 2 59 57 PM.jpg
Photo Jul 27, 3 29 14 PM.jpg
Photo Jul 27, 11 54 48 AM.jpg

August 1st also happened to be my last day at work - my summer internship at the SSEC as been a huge learning experience and a wonderful introduction do all of the programming that all the units under the Smithsonian umbrella take part in every summer. To wrap up at the office, I decided to make some STEM superhero door tags for all the wonderful ladies in the Professional Services division! They gifted me a wonderful goodie bag as a farewell gift chock full of office supplies - they know me so well!

Photo Aug 01, 9 37 58 PM.jpg
Photo Aug 01, 9 38 19 PM.jpg

Now that the summer is wrapping up, I have to get back into my school mindset for the next three months of MCAT prep! I've solicited a lot of advice from professors, medical schools, and friends who are currently entering medical school as M1's and will hopefully be studying harder and smarter this time around.

I've recently dug into And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini and have been enjoying it so far! I promised a friend I would pass along The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt, Natchez Burning by Greg Iles, and Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver.

This weekend is going to be a relaxing and calm one - just the way I like them! My salsa class is wrappng up and I've got to nail down some type of cooking schedule so I can keep practicing the culinary arts. In the meantime, I'll be enjoying the wonderful weather! Hope everyone else is having a great weekend as well!

bottom of page