top of page

The Roundup: Barbells & Books

Another week and another Saturday at our feet! This past week we started learning a new partner combination in my salsa class (lots of fun), I finally put a new duvet on my down comforter before finally getting it on my bed, and I went to more barbell classes. This morning I was in my usual cardio kickboxing class, after which I grabbed a lemonade smoothie from Caffe Amouri and swung by the library to pick up The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon.

tumblr_nbpr7vwyMA1qzkngno1_1280.jpg
tumblr_nc1xeuFMZR1qzkngno1_1280.jpg

I finished up Working Stiff this past week - I have to say it was a great read. The way that Dr. Melinek writes about the Medical Examiner's Office's response to the 9/11 attack is amazing. She reveals a lot about her practice during the period of emergency response without seeming callous or overly clinical. Reading about the logistical aftermath of the attack shines a new light on what happened that morning - about how a community of people can come together to get the city and its people back on its feet.

This week has been a relatively calm one. I'm grabbing Vietnamese food with a few friends tomorrow night, but other than that I'm hitting the books (as per usual). This week is my last official week of content review and practice passages. From here on out it's all going to be AAMC assessments, AAMC practice tests, and some Kaplan practice tests to tune up my test-taking strategy! Hope you guys had a great week and are enjoying this beautiful weekend!

bottom of page