top of page

The Roundup: Story District

This past week has been full of big events: moving offices at work, attending my first Story District event (Top Shelf), and finishing off the last of my Duke interviews! I started personal training and had my evaluation on Friday. I talked to my trainer about my diet and exercise routine - he gave me quite the introductory course in why traditional weight-lifting exercises are a little outdated and not necessarily the best for shedding body fat and/or pounds. On Saturday I had my first training session - Sergio had me doing about 20 minutes of TRX exercises and 40 minutes of kettlebell exercises.

Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday were filled with interviews. I always have such a wonderful time hearing students tell their stories and explaining the projects and subjects that they're most passionate about! My salsa team also started a new routine this week - full of dips, lunges, and some really saucy themes. I just ordered my plastic heel protectors, but they won't be here until later this week.

On Saturday night my friend got tickets to see Top Shelf, Story District's best 8 stories of 2015. All of the spoken word performers were absolutely wonderful - I laughed, I (almost) cried, and was certainly blown away by the grace and humor in all of the stories.

Today I dropped by a friend's house in Arlington and she took me to Boccato's - amazing gelato and amazing espresso! Boccato's seems like an amazing study spot with lots of warmth and charm. It's also right across the street from a Whole Foods if its patrons are in need of making a quick grocery run. This coming week's events include:

  • Farewell party for one of my colleagues

  • Second salsa practice for this new routine

  • Flying out to Boston!

  • Two more training sessions with Sergio

I'll be away from Friday to next Monday, but will post many photos of food & tourist activities after visiting some friends of mine from college in Boston. I absolutely cannot wait to be reunited with them!

bottom of page