top of page

The Skinny: February Reads

Can you believe that January is almost over already? So much has alread happened in the new year - it makes me even more excited for all the fun things to come! Just a recap, this month I had a chance to plan a dear friend (and colleague's) farewell party, we moved office locations at work, I started personal training sessions, I saw Story District's Top Shelf performance at Lincoln Theater, I visited Boston for a long week, started learning the new routine for our salsa team, and I survived Snowmaggedon 2016 in Northern Virginia! My mom and I spent the weekend eating Chinese food for every meal, making our hedgehog Valentines for this year, and planning our trip to Greece this summer.

Things that are on my mind for next month: finding a florist for my mom's wedding reception, finding the perfect stationary for the reception invitations, preparing for one last medical school interview, planning a happy hour with my coworkers (to celebrate February birthdays - there are a lot in our office), mailling out the hand-made Valentines mentioned above, finishing my financial aid forms, attending my first TEDx event, and finally getting back to cooking. In fact, I'm aiming to make this fantastic fiesta bowl for dinner some weeknight in the near future! In the meantime, I've finally finished Girl Waits With Gun and have just started The Disappearing Spoon (a birthday gift from my lovely friend Meredyth). Here are my thoughts on the former!

Girl Waits With Gun Amy Stewart, 416 pages

Stewart's story begins with our heroine - Constance Kopp - and her sisters riding towards town in their country buggy when, suddenly, they are plowed down by an automobile. The owner is none other than Henry Kauffman - one of the town's richest and most well-connected silk dye manufacturers. Kauffman also happens to be a gangster who runs around with common criminals, engaging in various illegal activites (extortion, blackmail, etc.). Clearly, the Kopp sisters have gotten into a tussle with the wrong man.

It might have all been fine, had Constance not decided to confront Kauffman and repeatedly solicit him for the $50 worth of damages incurred on her and her sisters' buggy. Thus begins a war between one of the town's most influential and wealthy men - pitted against three sisters who, for the better part of their lives, have lived in seclusion and anonymity. With the help of Sherrif Heath, the Kopp sisters steel their resolve and aim to take down the man who has not only run them off the road, but who has also committed other crimes against the citizens of their small community.

I don't want to say too much more about the plot - don't want to spoil the best parts for any interested readers! What I will say is that Stewart paints a humorous, lively, and honest picture of a small town outside of New York City in the early 1900s. Her female characters are particularly candid - one a recluse interested only in her animals (Norma), one a young girl just beginning to shed her innocence as she's exposed to the world outside of their countryside home (Fluerette), and one that's headstrong to a fault, but always acting in the best interests of her family (Constance). The three sisters make this story what it is - Kauffman is just someone for them to hunt down and defeat. The book ends on a wonderfully hopeful note, which made it the perfect read for a sap like me. Give it a go and I hope you enjoy it!

bottom of page