top of page

The Skinny: Nurses Week & Mothers Day

Am I the only one that can't believe how quickly April flew by? It seems like just yesterday I was putting away all my winter clothes and now we're getting ready for summer! Two very important events happening in my world next week: Mother's Day and the beginning of Nurse's Week. In preparation for both, I decided to spend (most of) today crafting and wrapping!

I had a few too many invitations printed for my mom and stepdad's wedding reception, so I found a fun way to repurpose them for my Mother's Day cards! All of the ladies in my office have kids and, being that most of their kids are under the age of 10, I figured I'd make them some cards to remind them how they (and moms in general) make the world go round!

I took the old A5's from my Thanksgiving cards, cut them in half, and pasted the floral cut-out onto the left-hand side! I wrote "Happy Mother's Day" with a silver Sharpie and the rest of the text was done with ultra fine point! I love getting together all of my leftover materials from other projects and trying to create something new with them :)

This year's Nurse's Week goodie bags include Starbucks mugs, Japanese ultra fine pens (in an assortment of colors), candy, Evelyn & Crabtree moisturizer, and gift cards to each of their favorite lunch spots! Because this is my final time coordinating Nurse's Week presents, I wanted to go big. That being said, my last day of work will be Tuesday, May 10th!

I really can't believe how quickly the past two years have gone by - it seems like a month ago that I finished my MCAT and was scouring Craigslist for job postings. I've met some fantastic people and had some really wonderful experiences that I wouldn't trade for anything. The time away from school has given me perspective and shown me what I value most highly - my family and my friends. They have been my support system and cheerleaders for the past few months as I prepare to leave for school again. When hard days come around (as they always do), I know I'll be in good company. Now it's onward and upward! Coming up in May: trip to Greece with mom, trip to New Orleans with my best friends from high school, and preparing for the journey of a lifetime - Cleveland here I come!

bottom of page